Greetings! 안녕하세요!

I have been thinking about starting a travel blog for many months now, but I was always stuck on the name. It seemed that, no matter where I went, the name of the blog was the first requirement to sign up.

It was a bit intimidating, the concept of a name. I thought about what kind of feeling I wanted to convey, what sort of tone the title would set. Should it be clever wordplay (I always love a good pun) or should it include my name?

I had notepads and papers scribbled from top to bottom with words I liked that related to travel and name possibilities, but nothing seemed organic. They mostly seemed forced, and I felt that I was working so hard to create something eye-catching and clever that I lost my own connection to it.

The blog was put on the back burner, and I just carried on with my life, the thought ever-present in the back of my mind.

Within the past few days, I realized that I have been many places and plan to go to even more in the future. If I ever want to have a travel blog, I mused, wouldn’t now be the perfect time to start? It’s a lull in my travel plans because I am focusing on school, which would allow me to write about where I have been and document my growing knowledge of new languages, but it would also give me an established place to write about my future endeavors.

In the past couple years, I have come to truly enjoy Korean pop. Maybe it’s a bit cliche, but the hallyu wave is upon us. If I were to fight it, it would only be a waste of energy because I would eventually give in. It’s better just to accept it and ride the current.

That was a bit too dramatic, sorry.

From this interest, I discovered and fell in love with a group called BTS (방탄소년단), and they have made me a fan of hip-hop and rap, which I never really enjoyed. They are an incredible group, and I probably talk about them more than I should, but I really love them a lot.

Their leader Rap Monster (랩몬스터) is an incredible rapper, and I listen to his first mix tape every day. He has a song called 표류 that samples “Lust 4 Life” by Drake and is just a fantastic song. The lyrics are very deep and meaningful. One of the major things I like about his songs is how relatable and emotional they are. Even before I knew what the lyrics meant, I could feel what he was describing and how he felt. I understood it on a deeper level, and once I knew what he was saying, it made my love for the song even greater.

표류 translates to “drifting” or “adrift” in English, and at this juncture of my life, I feel like that is a very good description for how I feel. A lot is happening, and it is a very scary time, and sometimes I feel like I’m just drifting along through it. Time is going slowly, and I am just going along. I feel like it also relates to how I want to live after I graduate. I want to see the world, live in different places, drift through the world without ever really anchoring myself.

“Adrift” was just the perfect word, which is why I did not have to think twice about choosing Ali Adrift as the title for my blog.

This is a link to a lyric video of the song. I hope a lot of people listen to it because it is really amazing.

 

-Ali

FAQ

Leave a Reply

